Suresh Mohapatra to become the new Chief Secretary of Odisha

The Chief Minister’s Office has announced that senior IAS officer Suresh Chandra Mohapatra has been appointed as the new Chief Secretary of Odisha.

Mohapatra is a 1986-batch Indian Administrative Service officer who has served the state government in various capacities. He is currently serving as Development Commissioner, and will soon replace the current Chief Secretary – Asit Kumar Tripathy.

Tripathy was designated as the Chief Secretary on August 19, 2019, and is set to retire on December 31, 2020.

The Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) further informed that Suresh Chandra Mohapatra would also continue with his Chief Development Commissioner’s post, in addition to his new role.

Asit Kumar Tripathy will become the new chairperson of the Western Odisha Development Council (WODC). Tripathy, coincidentally, is a resident of Bolangir district in western Odisha. This would be the first time that a non-political candidate would hold the crucial post of WODC chairperson.

Notably, Tripathy would be appointed as the Principal Advisor to the Chief Minister on Regional Development, Tourism, Agribusiness, and Industry. The CMO further informed that Pradeep Kumar Jena, the Additional Chief Secretary, Rural Development and Special Relief Commissioner, a 1989 batch IAS officer, has been appointed as the new Development Commissioner replacing Suresh Chandra Mohapatra.

Leave a comment