Odisha Assembly To Go Paperless

Surjya Narayan Patro, the elected Speaker of 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly, declared that the State Assembly will soon go paperless by adopting a digital system, similar to that of Himachal Pradesh.

Patro led a seven-member committee of the Assembly to visit the Vidhan Sabha of Himachal Pradesh where they observed the proceedings during question hour. This committee then acquired information about the digital system that fully automates the functioning of the Legislative Assembly and minimises the use of paper.

The members of the committee included the leader of the Opposition Pradipta Kumar Naik, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha, Minister of State for Electronics and IT Tusharkanti Behera, Government chief whip Pramila Mallik, senior Congress MLA Tara Prasad Bahinipati and BJP MLA Subash Panigrahi.

“We have decided to upgrade the Odisha Vidhansabha into e-Vidhansabha, and work has already started on this front. We have given order to NIC in this regard. Along with Wi-Fi, we are going to make all arrangement and changes like infrastructure to move towards the paperless concept,” Patro informed the media.

“E-Vidhan” is incorporated in Digital India Programme which falls under the Mission Mode Project (MMP). The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs (MoPA) is the primary ministry for “E-Vidhan’s” implementation in all the states and union territories.

Leave a comment