BJD Expects all Rajya Sabha MPs to attend Monsoon Session

A three-line whip has been issued to Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Rajya Sabha members asking them to attend the House on September 14, the first day of the monsoon session of Parliament. The upper house will reportedly elect its deputy chairperson on the first day of the session. NDA’s candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh who is aiming for his second term is competing against the candidate proposed by the opposition — RJD’s Manoj Jha.

The party issued the whip a day after JD(U) president and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar called up Naveen Patnaik seeking their support. Sasmit Patra, BJD Chief Whip in Rajya Sabha said, “All the Biju Janata Dal Members in Rajya Sabha are hereby informed that some very important Legislative Business will be taken up for discussion and passing in the Rajya Sabha on September 14, 2020. All Members of Biju Janata Dal in Rajya Sabha are therefore requested to be positively present in the house throughout the day on September 14, 2020”.

The BJD had supported Harivansh Narayan Singh in the last election where he had defeated Congress’s BK Hariprasad and was elected the deputy chairman.

Harivansh Narayan Singh completed his term as a member of the Rajya Sabha in April. He is likely to be re-elected to the office again as BJP is confident of acquiring the support of about 140 MPs. The strength of the NDA has also gradually increased to more than 114 seats in the upper house that currently has 244 members with a vacant seat. Notably, BJD has nine members in the Rajya Sabha of the 10 seats from Odisha, with BJP’s Ashwini Baishnab holding the other one.

Leave a comment