AP Padhi Appointed As State Election Commissioner

The Odisha Government has announced the appointment of Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi as the new State Election Commissioner (SEC), after receiving official approval from Governor Ganeshi Lal.

Speaking to reporters, Padhi said “On the directive of the Governor, the Panchayati Raj and Drinking Water department has issued a notification appointing me as the State Election Commissioner. I have applied for my voluntary retirement with a request to the State Government to waive the mandatory notice period of 90 days and permit me to retire from service on August 19.”

Padhi confirmed that he will take charge of the SEC on August 19 provided his request to the State Government is accepted. With his retirement due on February 2020, Padhi, a 1983 batch IAS officer, is one of the longest-serving chief secretaries. He will now become the seventh Election Commissioner of the state, replacing the incumbent SEC Naba Kumar Nayak, whose tenure came to an end in March 2019.

Five Election Commissioners have been appointed by the Naveen Patnaik Government since the formation of the State Election Commission in 1994. The first one to be rewarded with this prestigious post was Debendra Misra followed by Abhay Rath, Sanjeeb Hota, Ajit Tripathy, R N Senapati and N K Nayak.

In related news, it has also been confirmed that Development Commissioner cum Additional Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy will replace Padhi as the Chief Secretary.

Leave a comment