Two Odia Boys In Team India For FIH Men’s Series Finals

Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas, two prominent international hockey players from Odisha, have obtained a position in the national men’s team for the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Series Finals which will be held at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar, from June 6.

Hockey India announced the 18-member squad for the Olympic qualifier event on 28th May. The Indian team will be led by Manpreet Singh with Odisha’s Birendra Lakra serving as vice-captain. Expert goalkeepers PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak will defend India’s goalpost while Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas and Gurinder Singh will add to India’s steel in the backline.

A total of eight countries are participating in the event, with the teams divided into two pools for the group stages. India, Poland, Russia and Uzbekistan are placed in Pool-A, while Japan, Mexico, South Africa and the USA are in Pool-B.

India will play their opening match against Russia on June 6 before competing against Poland on June 7 and Uzbekistan on June 10 in their remaining matches. The final match of the tournament will be played on 15th of June. India will be intending to finish on top in order to make it to the Olympic Qualifying event which will be held later this year.

Leave a comment