Nine Booths In Odisha To Go For Re-Polling Tomorrow

Fresh polling has been ordered in nine booths of Odisha by the Election Commission as voting was disrupted during the second phase which took place on April 18. The re-polls for these nine booths, located in eight assembly constituencies, will be held on April 25 as confirmed by Odisha Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar.

Voting was said to have disrupted in these booths as a result of human error in operating VVPAT & EVMs and damaging of an EVM by a candidate.

The eight assembly constituencies where re-polling will take place are Sorada, Bonai, Sundargarh, Daspalla, Attabira, Bargarh, Padampur and Brajarajnagar. In Daspalla, re-polls will be held in two booths.

On April 18, BJP’s Sorada assembly candidate Nilami Bisoi was arrested on the charge of breaking the EVM.

Voting for the third phase of elections in 6 Parliamentary and 42 Assembly constituencies was conducted on April 24. The third phase received a turnout of 61 per cent from the 9.2 million registered voters.

Leave a comment