Narasingha Mishra To Lead The New Congress Development Committee

After managing to win just nine of the 147 assembly seats, Congress has constituted a 21-member team led by senior leader Narasingha Mishra, the winner from Bolangir assembly constituency, to overcome the party’s poor show in the recently concluded polls.

The Congress party in Odisha was reduced to third place in the state assembly and has over the years lost its status as the main opposition. In the Lok Sabha elections this time around, the party only won one of the 21 constituencies in Odisha.

Jitendra Singh, AICC’s Odisha in-charge, conducted a meeting with state leaders including those who contested the recent polls. Singh indicated that the state unit of the party will be overhauled and restructured.

Niranjan Patnaik, the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president, stated that he was in approval of dismissal of the PCC and formation of a new team comprising young members to give new endurance to the organisation. The OPCC also adopted a resolution reposing full faith in the leadership of Rahul Gandhi and requesting him to restructure and strengthen the party. Interestingly, Patnaik faced defeat in both the assembly seats that he contested.

“Congress should be revived in order to be able to provide a viable political alternative in the state and regain votes snatched away by other parties,” said TS Singh Deo, senior leader and Chhattisgarh minister.

Leave a comment