Jharsuguda Airport To Connect 6 Cities Under UDAN Scheme

In an announcement that will delight the people of Odisha, Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has confirmed that commercial flights will operate from Jharsuguda’s Veer Surendra Sai Airport, to six cities in the country, under UDAN-3 scheme.

Jharsuguda, which houses Odisha’s second airport, will be connected to Bhubaneswar, Kolkata, Mumbai, Raipur, Hyderabad and Delhi under the Regional Connectivity Scheme – Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik (RCS-UDAN). According to Pradhan, leading operators like Jet Airways, SpiceJet, Alliance Air and Turbo Airlines will operate to and from Jharsuguda.

The Jharsuguda airport was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on September 22 2018. Air Odisha had bagged the clearance to operate flights from Jharsuguda to Bhubaneswar, Ranchi and Raipur but had then suspended flight operations.

Pradhan also added that capital city Bhubaneswar will be connected to Varanasi, Kalaikunda and Jagdalpur. Also, industrial city Rourkela, which is soon to witness the third airport in Odisha, will be connected to Raipur and Bhubaneswar under UDAN-3.

The Civil Aviation Ministry has decided to invest Rs 1,050 crore for the upgradation of Biju Patnaik International Airport at Bhubaneswar.

A sum total of over Rs 160 crore has been sanctioned for development of airports at Jharsuguda, Jeypore, Utkela and Rourkela, which takes the cumulative allocation for development of airports and air connectivity in Odisha to over Rs 1,200 crore.

Leave a comment