Four Women From Odisha Selected For Malaysia Tour

The 18-member Indian women’s Hockey squad for the Malaysia tour has been announced and it consists of four players from Odisha – Lilima Minz, Rashmita Minz, Deep Grace Ekka and Sunita Lakra. The team is scheduled to play a five-match series from April 4 in Kuala Lumpur, under the captaincy of Savita Punita.

The team consists of many young players including Deep Grace Ekka, Rashmita Minz, Salima Tete, Reena Khokar, and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, along with Sunita Lakra who is returning to the squad after missing the Spain Tour.

In the goalkeeping line, the Indian captain will be accompanied by Rajani Etimarpu as backup. The midfield consists of Monika who returns from injury, along with Karishma Yadav, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal and Lilima Minz. The forward line includes Jyoti, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur and Navneet Kaur.

Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne, assessing the squad ahead of the 2020 Olympic Qualifying events said, “One of the things we wanted to improve after the Spain Tour was our one Vs one defending and create more opportunities after we intercept the ball. These are the two key areas we want to focus on in Malaysia, and we keep working on individual consistency of players”.

Leave a comment