Exit Polls: Odisha Continues To Trust Naveen Babu

The exit poll results indicate that while we are set to see some changes in the Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, BJD is expected to continue its dominance in the Assembly Polls. Out of several agencies, a major Odisha-based media organisation predicted that Naveen Patnaik will be re-elected for a fifth term as Chief Minister of Odisha by a sufficient majority, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will make some inroads in Lok Sabha seats.

The polls project that people have preferred Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in the state and are inclined towards BJP at the centre.

According to the exit poll projections:

  • BJD is anticipated to keep its column of Aska, Berhampur, Balasore, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur and Kandhamal
  • The saffron party is likely to win big in western and north Odisha namely Bargarh, Sambalpur, Sundergarh, Bolangir, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and Dhenkanal
  • The Congress seems to be leading in Nabarangpur Lok Sabha

In numbers, the Exit Poll on Sunday claimed that the BJP is set to win 8-12 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha rising from the one seat that it had won in the last election. The BJD is expected to settle for 6-9 seats this time around, a fall compared to the 20 seats it won in the last election while the Congress may only win a single seat.

Leave a comment