ECI Team To Review Poll Preparedness In Odisha

A six-member team of the Election Commission of India (ECI), led by Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa, arrived in Odisha and met the representatives of BJD, BJP, Congress, CPI and other political parties. The other members of the ECI team include Deputy Election Commissioner Chandra Bhushan Kumar, DG Expenditure D K Sharma, ADG (PIB) Sheyphali Saran, Director Nikhil Kumar, and Secretary Rakesh Kumar.

During this three day tour, the team will conduct a meeting with all the parties to review the preparedness of the state ahead of the general & assembly elections. Odisha Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi and DGP Rajendra Prashad Sharma are expected to attend the meeting.

“We are here to carry out a review of the level of preparedness for the general elections and the state assembly elections,” Lavasa told the press. “We will be briefing the media after review,” he added.

During their stay, the ECI team will review poll preparedness of the field functionaries, State Government officials and police in various parts of the State. The primary focus will be on the Left Wing Extremism-affected areas and other sensitive pockets. The team will also deploy security forces during their review.

The assembly elections are expected to take place in April.

Leave a comment