TATA Power wins Bids for Two Distribution Companies in Odisha

Tata Power Co. Ltd won the bids for two electricity distribution companies (discoms) in Odisha – the Western Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha Ltd (WESCO) and the Southern Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha Ltd (SOUTCO).

This bid comes after Tata Power won a 25-year licence for distribution and retail supply of power in five circles of the Central Electricity Supply Utility of Odisha (CESU Odisha) last December. Apart from Tata, a consortium of India Power Corporation Ltd and French government-owned power utility Electricite de France (EDF) was the only other bidder for WESCO and SOUTCO respectively.

WESCO is responsible for supplying electricity to consumers in the distribution circles of Rourkela, Burla, Balgarh, Bolangir, and Bhawanipatna. While SOUTCO serves Behrampur, Aska, Bhanjanagar, Jeypore, and Rayagada. The sale of WESCO is managed by PwC and that of SOUTCO is managed by Deloitte.

Odisha has an average power demand of 4,000MW. It was the first state to privatize its power distribution sector into four discoms in 1999.

Tata Power is also now the only bidder for North Eastern Electricity Supply Company of Odisha Ltd (NESCO), which supplies electricity to the districts of Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Jajpur and Bhadrak, which has prompted the OERC to seek legal opinion.

Leave a comment